DIY: bird feeder for winter season.

Since it’s real winter now where I live and it’s snowing I decided to give some food to the birds. Using some old fruits which are kind of left overs.

The snow is covering the windfalls from autumn and the most food for birds and other native animals. And at my place? I have apples, oranges, nuts and a lot of food which is kind of old and overripe so maybe I won’t eat it anymore. That’s why I sliced it up and used it as bird food.

1451923206006b

Here is what you need:

  • (old/overripe) fruits
  • nuts
  • branches of wood
  • rope
  • sewing needle

I just sliced the apples and oranges. Also I used some kind of spelt crackers I won’t eat anymore (not my taste). Than I took the needle and thread the rope into it. Now I just kind of sewed the fruits on the robe. Knot between everything so that the birds get easier to each food.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCOSo easy. If you have a garden with trees than just hang it into the trees. I just have a balcony that’s why I knoted the bird feeder to a brach of wood to hang it up.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Also you can cut fruits and just lay them somewhere. Maybe not on the ground but on a wall or flowerpots. Or just between some branches of a tree. But be careful, where you put the bird feeder. I have a cat and she maybe would catch some of the birds. That’s why I hung up the feeder at a place she can’t reach.

Processed with VSCO

I think it’s a perfect way to give some food to our native birds when the snow is covering everything and we still have fruits inside we won’t eat anymore. I mean the food should not be moldy or something. It’s just like I eat fruits not that ripe.

Hope you can do the same for some animals. And we should all enjoy our winter wonderlands. Let me know taging your pictures with #ndgbl on Instagram if you created your own bird feeder. And if you are interested into some more of my DIY projects, than check out my Pinterest page aswell.

Sending love,

wp-1449062211576.jpg

Pia, x

Leave a Reply

