how to write a travel journal.

I love to travel and I would say I travel a lot. Not like every weekend but like three to four times a year and maybe every two years I go on a bigger journey. But now since I have a car I want to go on little road trips as well. But how to keep every little village you travel through, all the friendly people you meet and everything you feel and see? I started to write my first travel journal about five years ago when I started traveling in Australia.

Traveling is the best way to learn everything about yourself, to learn for your life and to learn about the world. Feel how the beach sand of Australia forms under your feet, how the ocean in Central America sounds and see how tall mountains in New Zealand can grow. And remeber all of this your whole life and tell your children and your grandchildren one day. Remember and maybe show with a little help of a travel journal.

You can collect memories with the help of pictures but you can also write things down. Also you can draw views or let people you meet draw something for you. Collect sand, leaves, flowers, shells. Collect things from the ground, don’t destroy the enviroment. That’s how you remember what the sand feels.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

I collect almost everything. Shells, coins, maps, postcards, tickets, feathers, business cards. I also cut catalogs and stick them in. Cataloges of tours I did.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Also I draw sceneries and countrysides. Loving to combine it sometimes with the real undergroud. Pictures are amazing but sometimes drawing is more the way you see it. I learned this one in my University. When you draw something you see things better. You can see every little detail and not just the whole big one.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

To remeber every beautiful villiage or special place I’ve been I not just draw it. I mark the place in my map and sometimes I draw my own map. I feel like this is the best way to remember. And I love to share all of it. My grandfather is always very interested in the places where I’ve been. He gets his map and has a look. I kind of grew up with it and I love it. He knows all about where the streets go and which route is the best. I liked this idea so much, so I turned out with my own maps. For myself and my future grandchildren to show one day.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

And to not forget every speical person from my travels I let them draw something which we experienced together. I love it how this turnes out. Some people don’t want to draw something, they say they aren’t good in it. But that’s not what I want to see. I want to know how they feel about it and what’s the most special for them. What they think about our experiecnce.

Processed with VSCO

Not to forget is maybe the most important way how we share our travels. By taking pictures. I love to take pictures. I already have a few cameras. For travels and get your picture right away a polaroid camera is the best. You can stick the pictures right away into your journal. But also I have my smartphone and a reflex camera. You can catch everything. Every countryside, every person, every moment. But with the digital cameras we not just take the one perfect picture. We take like ten pictures of everything and the pictures will be forgotten in the deep of our computers. But the analog cameras. It’s more expensive, the same with the polaroid pictures, you just take one almost perfect picture of something. You think about how you are going to do it. And I love the way how analog pictures turn out. And when you get the pictures you can stick them right into your journal or in a frame for your wall. Just love it.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

At this time I already have five travel journals. But they are not just for travels and it’s not just a diary kind of thing. I have it with me most of the time. I collect also things from the ground just in front of my door. I make notes for my new tattoos, what I need to get form the loft of my grandpa or ideas how to decorate my appartment. It’s a notebook for my blog, a diary, a buying list kind of thing and my travel journal.

Processed with VSCO

That’s all I can say about travel journals. Just go for it. And combine all your wanderlust and travels on paper. Not just your big journeys but also your everyday adventures. Go out and enjoy the day with a walk, a road trip or a weekend escape. You don’t always need to get a flight over the big deep blue for a perfect day in paradise.

Wishing you a good trip and let me know with using #ndgbl on Instagram where you are going next. Also check out some pictures full of wanderlust to get inspired for your next adventure.

wp-1449062211576.jpg

Pia, x

8 comments

  1. Moritz · January 6, 2016

    What a nice post! In the time of blogs, real travel journals kind of get lost. At the same time, it’s so amazing to hold something in your hand where you memorized all your experiences 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • piamuel · January 6, 2016

      Thank you so much, always happy to hear that someone likes what I write and photograph 🙂 And yes! I just love to get everything I collected, photographed and experience together. A travel journal is the only way for me to do this. I don’d feel like doing or enjoying this with some other media. It’s like stickig everything into a book and I’m happy. NIce to know that still other people feel the same.

      Like

      • Moritz · January 6, 2016

        It’s my pleasure! Definitely keep on posting! 🙂

        Travel journals are truly specail. That’s something else you should never give up!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Little Miss Traveller · January 6, 2016

    Lovely, I always write a travel journal in nice hard backed books and also collect tickets, labels, menus, postcards, hotel brochures, etc. and stick them in. My children started doing scrapbook diaries from very young and it’s so lovely to bring them out after such a long time and look back. I love blogging but, as you say to have something tangible to hand down through generations is an absolute delight.

    Liked by 1 person

    • piamuel · January 6, 2016

      Yes, I feel the same about this. So amazing. Me and my siblings, we just got a book for our grandpa to write everything down and he should hand this to my dad, and he to my brother, and than my brother to his future son and so on. I love this idea so much. Like, you can feel the book and it’s for real and won’t get lost in the big store of your computer or something. Happy to hear that your children are going on with this kind of book love.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Lago de Atitlán, Guatemala. | creative indigo.
  4. Pingback: how to plan a road trip // southwest USA. | creative indigo.
  5. Pingback: short time travels. | creative indigo.

Leave a Reply

