DIY: dip dyed macramé wall hanging.

I still have some empty spots at my white walls in my new appartment left. And when I saw all the modern macramés I just had to have one for myself. If you want to learn how to knot an easy macramé go on reading.

I saw the macramés like everywhere around the internet. Original the macramés are from the 70s. But now they having a big comeback. It’s a knot art kind of thing. And you can make everything out of it. Using it as a plant holder, a room separator, as a curtain or just as a wall art. That’s what I made, a wall haning. It takes a little while to get the carrick bend but if you once knew how to knot it will be so easy going on.

1452684406900

Here is what you need:

  • robe
  • yarn in a light color (if you want to dip dye)
  • a branch of wood
  • scissors
  • water color if you want to dip dye your macremé

To start with the yarn. I cut eight pieces, each one two meters long. Get the branch of wood and knot the eight pieces around. Everyone in a distance of 1 to 1,5 cm next to each other. My brach is about 46 cm long. But leave some space at the two sides for the robe later on to knot the hanger.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Now we are going on with the carrick bend. I can not explain it very well. So have a look at the pictures. We are starting at the left. Taking the four strings of the two first knots. We have to follow four steps.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Go on doing this with all eight knots and we are getting four carrick bends. Now it’s time for the second line. Leave the first two strings out of this and make a carrick bend out of the half of the first and the secoond carrick bends out of the first line. Do this with the others as well. Also leaving the last two strings out of this. We are getting three new carrick bends in the second line.

Processed with VSCO

Repeat the first and the second line two times. Than knot two carrick bends out of the last line of three, leaving the outter strings out of this. The last carrick bend you knot out of the line of two carricks bends above. And your done. Just cut your hanging strings to a length you like. Get your robe and knot it to your branch at both ends and hang it up on your wall.

Processed with VSCO

Because mine is white and hanging in front of a white wall I decided to dip dye my macremé wall hanging to get a little more contrast. For my place I thought a blue dip dye is the most prettiest. You can choose any color you want. I used acryl color because that’s the only color I have at my place so I didn’t need to buy extra color. I mixed a little color with a lot of water just to get a little paint on my yarn. Cover your working place to not paint your table as well. And now put as much as you want colored of the macemé into the water paint mixture. Leave longer in the paint if you want it darker. For a dip dyed wall hanging you need to leave the bottom of your macremé longer in the water color. Let it dry well on some paper. Because you don’t want some color on your wall as well.

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

Processed with VSCO

And I’m done with y dip dyed macremé wall hanging. Hope you guys like it as much as I do. Fell free to try on your own and let me know about your craftings. Just tag your pictures with #ndgbl to share. And if you are interested into some more DIY projects, check my Pinterest feed.

Sending some love,

wp-1449062211576.jpg

Pia, x

 

2 comments

  1. mylifeasishan · February 16, 2016

    Really nice

    Like

Leave a Reply

